Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 10, 2023 10:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT
Jim Fleming, Chair
Denny Laufenburger, Vice Chair
Tom Bartholomew
Dyan Ebert
Gregory Egan
Frank Jewell
Pam Langseth
Joe Morley
Brian Melendez
Austin Peterson
Steve Robinson

MEMBERS EXCUSED
David Dingee
Beth Jenson Prouty
Paul Krabbenhoft
Tanwi Prigge
Ken White

Denny Laufenburger, Vice Chair, called the meeting of the Legislative Salary Council to order at 10:05 AM in the Ladyslipper Room of the Centennial Office Building. A quorum was present.

Approval of minutes

Frank Jewell moved approval of the minutes from the March 1, 2023 meeting. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Council review and discussion of draft salary calculation

Greg Hubinger, LCC staff, provided an overview of two potential salary calculation options that were discussed at the Council's meeting on March 1, 2023.

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, LCC, presented additional information related to the Minnesota non-farm average wage included in the February forecast that was provided by Minnesota Management and Budget.

Member discussion focused on the salary calculation in option two, which was based on 90% of the average non-farm wage for individuals of \$72,926 in its calculation.

Chair Fleming assumed the gavel at 10:23 AM.

Brian Melendez moved to adopt the calculation utilized in option two for determining legislators' salary. Seconded.

Pam Langseth moved to amend the Melendez motion to utilize 100% of the average non-farm wage in the calculation for determining the salary. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Egan, Jewell, Langseth, Melendez, Peterson

Nays: Ebert, Laufenburger, Morley, Robinson

There being 7 Ayes, 4 Nays and 5 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice Chair Laufenburger moved to recess. Seconded.

The Council recessed at 11:14 AM.

Chair Fleming called the meeting back to order at 11:27 AM.

Chair Fleming moved to reconsider the Langseth motion. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Egan, Jewell, Langseth, Laufenburger, Melendez, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

There being 11 Ayes, 0 Nays and 5 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Pam Langseth withdrew her motion.

Denny Laufenburger moved to amend the Melendez motion by adjusting the 90% of non-farm wages to individuals of \$65,633 by 5.33% to account for inflation. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Jewell, Langseth, Laufenburger, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

Nays: Egan, Melendez

There being 9 Ayes, 2 Nays and 5 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

A roll call vote was taken on the Melendez motion to utilize the calculation in option two as amended, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Egan, Jewell, Langseth, Laufenburger, Melendez, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

There being 11 Ayes, 0 Nays and 5 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Fleming moved to set the prescribed salary of legislative members at \$51,750 effective July 1, 2023. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Egan, Jewell, Langseth, Laufenburger, Melendez, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

There being 11 Ayes, 0 Nays and 5 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Fleming called a recess at 12:01 PM.

Chair Fleming called the meeting back to order at 12:45 PM.

Review and adopt draft Council report

Mr. Hubinger reviewed the proposed draft of the Council's 2023 Report to the Legislature.

Brian Melendez moved to approve the draft report as edited during today's meeting. Staff are authorized to prepare the report and include any technical changes that are necessary. The chair and vice chair are authorized to approve and work with staff to submit the final report. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken, the results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Egan, Langseth, Laufenburger, Melendez, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

There being 10 Ayes, 0 Nays and 6 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Denny Laufenburger moved to authorize staff to prepare and the chair to approve the meeting minutes from today's meeting. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows.

Ayes: Chair Fleming, Bartholomew, Ebert, Egan, Langseth, Laufenburger, Melendez, Morley, Peterson, Robinson

There being 10 Ayes, 0 Nays and 6 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:19 PM.