Legislative Salary Council Wednesday, February 8, 2023 10:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT
Jim Fleming, Chair
Denny Laufenburger, Vice Chair
Tom Bartholomew
David Dingee
Dyan Ebert
Gregory Egan
Beth Jenson Prouty
Frank Jewell
Paul Krabbenhoft
Pam Langseth
Brian Melendez
Austin Peterson
Steve Robinson
Ken White

MEMBERS EXCUSED Joe Morley Tanwi Prigge

Jim Fleming, convener, called the meeting of the Legislative Salary Council to order at 10:03 AM in the Ladyslipper Room of the Centennial Office Building. A quorum was present.

Introduction of members and staff

Council members and staff introduced themselves.

Adopt agenda

Denny Laufenburger moved approval of the agenda. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Election of chair and vice chair

Paul Krabbenhoft nominated Jim Fleming for the position of Chair.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, David Dingee, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Paul Krabbenhoft, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Frank Jewell nominated Denny Laufenburger for the position of Vice Chair.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, David Dingee, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Paul Krabbenhoft, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 13 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Open Meeting Law and Data Practices Act

Taya Moxley-Goldsmith, Director, Data Practices Office, presented an overview of the Open Meeting Law and the Minnesota Data Practices Act.

Consider proposed policies

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

Frank Jewell moved adoption of the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Tom Bartholomew, David Dingee, Dyan Ebert, Gregory Egan, Jim Fleming, Beth Jenson Prouty, Frank Jewell, Paul Krabbenhoft, Pam Langseth, Denny Laufenburger, Brian Melendez, Austin Peterson, Steve Robinson, Ken White.

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Summary of Constitutional and Statutory provisions related to the Legislative Salary Council Patrick McCormick, Director, House Research Department, presented an overview of the constitutional and statutory provisions relating to the Legislative Salary Council.

Legislator compensation data

Greg Hubinger, LCC Staff, presented an overview on Minnesota legislator compensation and per diem history and other compensation such as: insurance, retirement, and reimbursable expenses. Mr. Hubinger also presented on legislative salaries and per diem in other states, the salaries of Minnesota's elected officials and various salary increase comparisons.

Barb Juelich, Controller/Chief Financial Officer, House Budget and Accounting and Betty Myers, Controller, Minnesota Senate addressed Council member questions related to legislative compensation, payments, and budgets.

Council Discussion

Council members discussed the next meeting, presenters, and information that they would like to be provided to the Council. It was determined that the next Council meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 1st and an additional meeting was scheduled for Friday, March 10th.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:21 PM.