Compensation Council March 10, 2021 Remote Meeting

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present:

David Asp

Kathy Brown

Richard Cohen

Sean Dowse

James Fox

Peter Gregory

Sam Kaplan

Amanda Matchett

Kathleen Meverle

Bob Meyerson

Gail Olson

Scott Van Binsbergen

Charlie Weaver

Nick Zerwas

Members Excused:

Annie Deckert

Noah Hobbs

Sam Kaplan, Chair, called the remote meeting of the Compensation Council to order at 1:02 PM. A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

James Fox moved approval of the minutes from the March 5, 2021 meeting. Seconded. The Motion Prevailed.

Discuss and determine recommendations

Members reviewed and discussed three possible recommendations for the constitutional officers salaries. The options reviewed were a 4% increase effective January 1, 2022; a 3.5% increase effective January 1, 2022 and a 3.5% increase effective January 1, 2023; and an annual cost of living increase calculated using the Consumer Price Index. An informal poll was taken on the three options. The majority present preferred option two.

Gail Olson moved to recommend the constitutional officers receive a 3.5% salary increase on January 1, 2022 and a 3.5% increase on January 1, 2023. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Sean Dowse, Peter Gregory, Sam Kaplan, Kathleen

Meyerle, Bob Meyerson, Gail Olson, Charlie Weaver, Nick Zerwas

Nays: James Fox, Amanda Matchett, Scott VanBinsbergen

Absent: Annie Deckert, Noah Hobbs

There being 11 Ayes, 3 Nays and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Gail Olson moved to recommend constitutional officers receive a cost of living salary increase calculated using the Consumer Price Index, following the process in Minn. Stat. 15A.0815, Subd. 2, effective January 1, 2024. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Sean Dowse, Peter Gregory, Sam Kaplan, Amanda Matchett, Kathleen Meyerle, Bob Meyerson, Gail Olson, Nick Zerwas

Nays: James Fox, Scott VanBinsbergen, Charlie Weaver

Absent: Annie Deckert, Noah Hobbs

There being 11 Ayes, 3 Nays and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Gail Olson moved to recommend the salary of the Secretary of State be commensurate with the salary of the State Auditor effective July 1, 2021.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Sean Dowse, James Fox, Peter Gregory, Sam Kaplan, Amanda Matchett, Kathleen Meyerle, Bob Meyerson, Gail Olson, Charlie Weaver, Nick Zerwas

Nays: Scott VanBinsbergen

Absent: Annie Deckert, Noah Hobbs

There being 13 Ayes, 1 Nays and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Members then discussed the agency head salary ranges.

Charlie Weaver moved that the Council take no action regarding a recommendation on agency head salary ranges. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Sean Dowse, James Fox, Peter Gregory, Sam Kaplan, Amanda Matchett, Kathleen Meyerle, Bob Meyerson, Gail Olson, Scott VanBinsbergen, Charlie Weaver, Nick Zerwas

Absent: Annie Deckert, Noah Hobbs

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed

Members then reviewed and discussed options for recommendations for judicial salaries. The determination of a recommendation on judicial salaries will occur at the Council's March 19, 2021 meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:39 PM.