Compensation Council February 5, 2021 Remote Meeting

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present: David Asp Kathy Brown **Richard Cohen** Annie Deckert Sean Dowse James Fox Peter Gregory Noah Hobbs Sam Kaplan Amanda Matchett Kathleen Meyerle Bob Meyerson Gail Olson Scott Van Binsbergen **Charlie Weaver** Nick Zerwas

Convener, Gail Olson, called the remote meeting of the Compensation Council to order at 2:02 PM. A quorum was present.

Introduction of members

Members introduced themselves.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Gail Olson opened up nominations for the position of council chair.

Sam Kaplan was nominated for the position of council chair. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Annie Deckert, Sean Dowse, James Fox, Peter Gregory, Noah Hobbs, Sam Kaplan, Amanda Matchett, Kathleen Meyerle, Gail Olson, Scott Van Binsbergen, Charlie Weaver, Nick Zerwas

Nays: Bob Meyerson

There being 15 Ayes and 1 Nay. The Motion Prevailed.

Sam Kaplan assumed the gavel.

Chair Kaplan opened up nominations for the position of council vice chair.

Charlie Weaver nominated Gail Olson for the position of vice chair. The Motion Prevailed.

Open Meeting Law & Data Practices Act

Stacie Christensen, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Administration, presented an overview of the Government Data Practices Act speaking to what is considered government data and the classification of government data. Additionally, she presented on the Open Meeting law speaking to when the law applies.

Adopt Policies

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

Scott Van Binsbergen moved to adopt the Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and for Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded. A roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: David Asp, Kathy Brown, Richard Cohen, Annie Deckert, Sean Dowse, James Fox, Noah Hobbs, Samuel Kaplan, Amanda Matchett, Kathleen Meyerle, Bob Meyerson, Gail Olson, Scott Van Binsbergen, Charlie Weaver, Nick Zerwas

There being 15 Ayes and 1 Absent, The Motion Prevailed.

Duties of the Compensation Council

Stephanie James, Senate Counsel and Research, presented an overview of the statutory duties of the Compensation Council.

Disposition of 2019 Recommendations

Greg Hubinger, LCC staff, presented an overview of the outcomes of the Compensation Council's 2019 recommendations. Mr. Hubinger also presented a spreadsheet containing historical data related to the salaries of constitutional officers and judges.

Agency Head Salary Ranges

Marta James, House Research, presented an overview on agency head salaries within the Council's jurisdiction. Additionally, Greg Hubinger presented a spreadsheet containing historical data related to salaries of agency heads.

Salaries for Constitutional Officers, and Judges

Stephanie James, Senate Counsel and Research, presented information related to the total compensation packages for constitutional officers and judges.

Salary Survey Information

Greg Hubinger presented an overview of the Council of State Governments' salary survey on constitutional officers salaries.

Presentation of Requests/Recommendation

Jeff Shorba, State Court Administrator, presented an overview of the Minnesota Judicial Branch FY 2022-2023 budget request.

Next Steps

The next meeting is scheduled for February 19, 2021 from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:01 PM.