STATE OF MINNESOTA

SEVENTH MEETING EIGHTY-FIFTH SESSION

LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION TO END POVERTY BY 2020

MINUTES

Sen. John Marty, co-chair of the Legislative Commission to End Poverty by 2020, called the seventh meeting to order at 12:50 PM on Wednesday, January 23, 2008, in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll:

Members Present: Rep. Carlos Mariani Rep. Morrie Lanning Rep. Nora Slawik Rep. Neva Walker Ms. Donna Bauer Mr. Michael Hawton

Sen. John Marty Sen. Scott Dibble Sen. Steve Dille Sen. Michael Jungbauer Sen. Tony Lourey Sen. Sandra Pappas

Members Excused: Rep. Jim Abeler Rep. Bruce Anderson Rep. Frank Moe Rep. Bud Nornes Rep. Mary Ellen Otremba

Sen. Paul Koering Sen. Mary Olson Sen. Claire Robling

A quorum was not present.

Chair Marty welcomed the audience and Commissioners, and talked about tomorrow's Southeast Tour.

Presentation: "Emergency Assistance" Ms. Jessica Webster, Legislative Advocate for Legal Assistance Advocacy Project.

Questions and Discussion followed.

Chair Mariani assumed the gavel at 1:12 PM

A quorum was present.

Presentation: "Governor's Workforce Development Initiative" Ms. Brenda Norman, Executive Director, Governor's Workforce Development Initiative Powerpoint presentation: "Minnesota Shifting Gears: a System and Policy Change Initiative to Advance Low-Wage, Low Skilled Workers"

Questions and Discussion followed.

Presentation: "Developmental Assets" Dr. Peter Benson, President, Search Institute Handout: "The Asset Approach: 40 Elements of Healthy Development"

Questions and Discussion followed.

Chair Mariani acknowleged members of Ramsey and Washington County Community Action Partnership Low Income Fellows and Duluth Community Action Partnership Low Income Fellows in the audience and invited them to report to the Commission their thoughts on Dr. Benson's testimony.

Panel Discussion: "The Impact of Education on Poverty"

Moderator: Ms. Mary Cathryn Ricker

Panelists:
Ms. Gayle Kelly, Executive Director, Minnesota Head Start Association
Dr. Kathleen DeVore, Professor, Minneapolis Community and Technical College
Dr. Whitney Harris, Executive Director of Diversity, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)
Mr. Kent Pekel, Executive Director for Post-Secondary Academic Success, University of Minnesota
Dr. Peter Zetterberg, University of Minnesota
Mr. Yusef Mgeni, Director of Educational Equity, St. Paul Public Schools

Questions and discussion followed.

Presentation: "Safety Net Programs" Ms. Deborah Schlick, Executive Director, Affirmative Options Coalition

Members of the audience to introduced themselves to the Commission and gave an idea about how to end poverty in Minnesota.

Mr. Gregory Gray, Executive Director for the Legislative Commission to End Poverty by 2020, gave an update on the Commission's work, tomorrow's southeast tour, and the forthcoming Interim Report.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 PM.

Rep. Carlos Mariani, Co-Chair

Sen. John Marty, Co-Chair

Celeste Marin, Committee Legislative Assistant